Tiger on Penalty: I 'Made a Mistake' But Should Not Be DQ'd

Tiger Woods, after barely avoiding disqualification after getting assessed a two-shot penalty for an illegal drop in the second round due to a 2012 rule change, said he never thought about withdrawing and respected and accepted the penalty he received for his "mistake."

When asked if he should have been disqualified after shooting a 2-under 70 in the third round on Saturday, which left him at -3 for the tournament and four shots off the lead, Woods said the thought did not even enter his mind. 

"No, under the rules of golf, I'm abiding by the rules," Woods said. 

He said the first time he found out he could be in trouble was when he got an early-morning text from his agent on Saturday that said, "call me."

"That's never a good thing," Woods said, laughing. I got a text from Steiny that said, call me. (LOL) That's never a good thing."

Woods also said the the two-shot penalty was appropriate. 

"Absolutely, I made a mistake," Woods said. "I took an improper drop and got the penalty."


advertisement

Breitbart Video Picks

advertisement

advertisement

advertisement

Send A Tip

From Our Partners

Fox News Sports