Soviet Hockey Legend: Officials Correctly Disallowed Russian Goal

The legendary Soviet Union hockey goalie who was pulled in the "Miracle on Ice" game and lit the flame in the opening ceremony for the Sochi Games said that officials correctly disallowed what appeared to be a potentially game-winning goal by the Russians minutes before regulation ended on Saturday.

The game between the U.S. and Russia went into overtime after the teams skated to a 2-2 tie in regulation, and then to a shootout, where the U.S. prevailed due to the on-ice heroics of goalie Jonathan Quick and T.J. Oshie. 

Vladislav Tretiak, who also has coached the Russian national team, said, “The rules are written in such a way that if the goal is moved even a little bit, the point is not counted. “And it was moved.”

Other Russian politicians went apoplectic, calling the Americans cheaters.

Here is the rule in question: 


a) No goal shall be allowed:

1. If an attacking player deliberately kicks, throws or bats with the hands or otherwise

directs the puck by any means other than his stick into the goal net even if the puck

has been further deflected by any player, goalkeeper or official,

2. If an attacking player contacted the puck with the stick above the cross bar,

3. If the puck has been directly deflected into the goal net off an official,

4. If an attacking player stands or holds his stick in the goal crease when the puck

enters the goal net, unless he has been physically interfered with, by the action

of any defending player so as to cause him to be in the goal crease when the puck

enters the goal net, unless if in the opinion of the Referee, he had sufficient time

to get out of the crease or unless Rule 470 applies.

5. If the goal net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice.

Photo: USA Today 


Breitbart Video Picks




Send A Tip

From Our Partners