Jimmy Graham Draws Two Penalties for Dunking Over Goalpost, Vows to Stop

During Friday's preseason game, New Orleans Saints tight end Jimmy Graham drew two penalties for dunking the football over the cross bar of the goalposts bringing the player to finally admit, "I just got to stop doing that now."

After each of two scoring receptions, Graham leaped up and dunked the ball over the cross bar of the goalposts. But starting this season, this is against the rules and with each display of exuberance Graham earned his team a 15-yard penalty on the kickoff.

Along with drawing the penalties, Graham drew the ire of coach Sean Payton as the two were seen in a heated exchange after the player's second incident.

This isn't the first time that Graham ever dunked a football, though. "For four years and however many touchdowns, I always dunked it," Graham said.

Coach Payton didn't seem too worried about Graham, though.

"I'm his biggest fan," Payton said after the game. "I'm sure as we get going here that type of thing isn't going to be a problem. Rules are changing constantly whether we like them or voted for them or any of those things. He's outstanding. He'll be ready to go."

Still, Graham revealed that he didn't understand why such showboating is now a penalty.

"Some people were saying it all was (all too much showboating)," Graham said in a press conference after the game. "I mean, it's a penalty and some kind of fine.... it's unfortunate because I'm not hurting anybody."

The Saints beat the Tennessee Titans 31-24 in Friday's preseason game.

Follow Warner Todd Huston on Twitter @warnerthuston or email the author at igcolonel@hotmail.com


advertisement

Breitbart Video Picks

advertisement

advertisement

advertisement

Send A Tip

From Our Partners