The Conversation

National Review: Breitbart Rocks CPAC

Mar 15, 2013 1:59 PM PT

National Review's Betsy Woodruff covers Breitbart News' presence at CPAC 2013. She captures the spirit of the Breitbart team and our readers--though I personally have yet to sign anyone's body parts:

“I just wanna say, heroes are ordinary people doing extraordinary things,” says one woman in the front row, “and I want to thank all of you.” The end of her sentence is drowned out by applause.

Continue reading

Entertainment

Comedian Steve Harvey: Hollywood Still 'More Racist Than America'

Mar 15, 2013 1:45 PM PT

Steve Harvey has brought Family Feud newfound daytime ratings success, which may have some entertainment industry heads looking for more black frontmen to helm earlier show slots, a strategy that Steve Harvey is very familiar with.

In the waning years of the WB Network and his hit sitcom, The Steve Harvey Show, Harvey was told by a WB executive that "new networks invest in shows starring African-Americans because they bring a guaranteed audience, says The Hollywood Reporter. And "as they build the network and get more eyeballs, they slowly start phasing them out," explains Harvey, and the networks try to "woo higher-income brackets with a less diverse slate of programming that is perceived as more palatable to the mainstream." 

Continue reading

Gun Control

Chris Matthews, O'Donnell Attack Ted Cruz Over 2nd Amendment Questions

Mar 15, 2013 12:25 PM PT

This morning, MSNBC host Joe Scarborough called Texas Senator Ted Cruz ignorant four times for asking Sen. Diane Feinstein (D-Calf.) a question about her gun control proposals. However, the venom spewed at the Senator from Texas didn't begin with Scarborough.

Last night, host Chris Mathews admitted that he "doesn't understand how people can elect someone like Ted Cruz?" Liberal columnist Cynthia Tucker doubled down on Sen. Cruz saying, "not only is Ted Cruz an extremist, he's also overbearing, arrogant and condescending. And I can only imagine how Dianne Feinstein felt. How dare he?" 

Continue reading

Politics

Arrogance without clue

Mar 15, 2013 11:59 AM PT

A funny little story that shows off the unique mixture of arrogance and ineptitude pouring out of this White House, as freshman Democrat Rep. Dan Kildee of Michigan asks a perfectly reasonable question and gets his head torn off:

At a closed-door meeting between President Barack Obama and House Democrats, Kildee introduced himself as a freshman, to which Obama said, “Wow, you’re really classing up the place then.”

Kildee then proceeded to ask what one person described as a somewhat “long-winded” question about the importance of creating jobs for his economically distraught district.

“I can tell you’re a freshman because you didn’t pay much attention to the State of the Union,” Obama joked. “I talked about that.”

Amid the resulting laughter, House Democratic Caucus Chairman Xavier Becerra of California then offered to provide Kildee a printout of the speech.  Obama was referring to his $1 billion proposal for 15 manufacturing “innovation centers,” the details of which are still somewhat hazy.

Actually, though, the joke was on Obama: On Wednesday, Kildee had met with the White House legislative affairs team about the innovation centers proposal, so he was quite familiar with it.

And his question was broader, about what types of reforms are necessary to reform decaying urban centers like Flint, Mich., which Kildee represents.  “Dan wasn’t specifically talking about innovation centers in his question,” a spokesman said.

Continue reading

AP's Interesting Photo Choice for Tim Scott's CPAC Speech

Mar 15, 2013 10:10 AM PT

Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) spoke at the ACU's Conservative Political Action Conference Thursday, and this is one of three Associated Press photos chosen to represent his time in the spotlight.

Scott assumed this particular pose as he acted out a story of a car crash he experienced as a teen. AP's photo caption does not include this context.

Continue reading

100% Lie: Media Matters calls me a 'Birther'

Mar 15, 2013 9:03 AM PT

It's widely felt that Media Matters for America is declining in influence, and today I was reminded why.

In a piece entitled "What The Media Need To Know About CPAC 2013," Media Matters' Hannah Groch-Begley and Chelsea Rudman described me as a "Birther":

Pollak Highlighted A 1991 Booklet That Incorrectly Stated Obama Was "Born In Kenya." In spite of insisting that "Breitbart News is a site that has never advocated the narrative of 'Birtherism'," Pollak wrote a post on Breitbart.com that highlighed a 1991 booklet produced by Obama's literary agent that incorrectly stated he was "born in Kenya." The post was hyped by right-wing media, including sites known for pushing birther claims. [Media Matters, 5/18/12]

Continue reading

Economy

Keystone XL and Eco-Hypocrisy

Mar 15, 2013 7:53 AM PT

Jonah Goldberg at National Review makes a sharp point about the Keystone XL pipeline today: we're constantly lectured that Canadians are model citizens of the world, but their enthusiastic approval of the Keystone pipeline cuts absolutely no ice with the American Left.  This is, presumably, the one thing U.S. liberals think Canada is completely and totally wrong about.

And from a practical standpoint, the radical American greens and their pet President cannot "stop" the extraction of oil from the Canadian tar sands.  They can't really "stop the pipeline."  They can only prevent it from running through America, and bringing American jobs with it.  If anything, the alternative methods for shipping this oil to its standby customer, China, are considerably riskier for the environment.  The opponents of Keystone XL are engineering a net minus to the Earth, in the name of their own political ideology.

Continue reading

CPAC 2013

A Return to CPAC: Remembering Andrew Breitbart

Mar 15, 2013 7:41 AM PT

The day I was invited to emcee for CPAC, I was also trying to write a tribute to Andrew.  I had the basic pieces already written but I couldn't find a way to end it. 

As I sat and thought about Andrew at CPAC just one year earlier, stories I had already told didn't seem appropriate.  So, I crossed them out.  Lines and hashtags we made trend, didn't seem right.  So, I crossed them out.  Feeling sad and nostalgic seemed offensive. So, I crossed it out.

Continue reading

Entertainment

Big Trouble in SimCity

Mar 14, 2013 8:49 PM PT

It's not a political story per se, but it might have economic and digital-freedom implications: videogame fans have been watching in horror as the latest release of the popular SimCity franchise turns into a mushroom cloud of suck, because what should have been perfectly playable as a single-player computer game (like all of its predecessors) was written to require Internet access to the company's servers.  Which aren't working very well.

SimCity is a game in which the player becomes mayor and architect of a virtual city, planning new construction and coping with various random crises.  The new game offers the attraction of combining player cities online into a virtual world, so you might find your city doing business with a city constructed by your friends.  It's a cute feature, but not integral to gameplay; a stand-alone mode comparable to earlier installments in the franchise could, and should, have been included.

Continue reading

advertisement

Breitbart Video Picks

advertisement

advertisement

Fox News National

advertisement

Send A Tip