Skip to content

Tea Party-Backed Cruz Wins Texas Senate Seat

Tea Party-Backed Cruz Wins Texas Senate Seat

Tea-Party-backed Republican Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) has won the Texas Senate seat, making him the third Hispanic member of the Senate.

Three more Democrats have won re-election: Sens. Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) of Michigan, Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) of Minnesota and Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) of New York. Republican Sens. Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY) of Wyoming and Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS) in Mississippi also have won new terms.

Seven other Democrats have won Senate seats, including Rep. Chris Murphy in Connecticut and incumbent Sens. Joe Manchin in West Virginia and Bob Menendez in New Jersey. Fighting for control of the Senate, each party had locked up 40 seats as of 9:30 p.m. Eastern Time, and Republicans 41 seats, including the 67 seats not up this election. Democrats now enjoy a 53-seat majority, including two independents who align with them.

Comment count on this article reflects comments made on and Facebook. Visit Breitbart's Facebook Page.