A history of the African National Congress

(AP) A history of the African National Congress
By The Associated Press
A glance at the history of South Africa’s governing African National Congress political party:


_1912: Founding of South African Native National Congress, precursor to the ANC.

_1923: Name changed to African National Congress.

_1955: The Congress Alliance _ of the ANC and Indian, mixed-race and white organizations _ holds the Congress of the People in Soweto. Congress adopts the Freedom Charter calling for a nonracial democracy and a socialist-based economy.

_1956: Nelson Mandela and 155 other South Africans of all races who had supported the Freedom Charter charged with treason. All acquitted after a four-year trial.

_1959: Robert Sobukwe leads breakaway faction from the ANC, forming Pan Africanist Congress, now a minor political player in South Africa.

_1960: ANC banned.

_1961: Founding of ANC’s guerrilla wing, Umkhonto we Sizwe, or Spear of the Nation.

_1964: Mandela found guilty of sabotage at Rivonia Trial and sentenced to life imprisonment.

_1990: ANC and other groups unbanned; Mandela released.

_1991: Mandela elected president of ANC. The government, ANC and 17 other political groups begin formal negotiations on a new constitution.

_1993: Draft constitution adopted.

_1994: ANC wins first all-race elections; Mandela becomes president; ANC’s armed wing absorbed into national defense forces.

_1999: Thabo Mbeki succeeds Mandela as the country’s president.

_2007: ANC elects Jacob Zuma as party president over Mbeki, putting Zuma in line to run for the presidency.

_2009: ANC sweeps parliamentary elections and Zuma becomes president.

_2011: ANC fires Youth League leader Julius Malema and suspends him from the party for five years.

_2012: ANC marks its 100th anniversary, holds party convention to pick its next leader.

Comment count on this article reflects comments made on Breitbart.com and Facebook. Visit Breitbart's Facebook Page.

Like Breitbart on Facebook