Skip to content

Seven Elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Seven Elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame


Head coach Bill Parcells, defensive lineman Warren Sapp, wide receiver Cris Carter, and offensive linemen Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Parcells coached teams like the New York Giants and the New England Patriots. Sapp was a star defender for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers after a storied collegiate career at Miami. Ogden, an offensive lineman, played for the Ravens. He and Ray Lewis were the first draft picks of Baltimore Ravens general manager Ozzie Newsome. Carter played wide receiver for the Minnesota Vikings. Allen was a lineman with the Dallas Cowboys.

The class of 2013 also includes a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made Saturday in New Orleans, a day before the Super Bowl.

Five players were eliminated in the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell. 

Allen, Ogden, Sapp all enter the Hall of Fame in the first year of eligibility, while Parcells was in his second year.

To be elected, candidates had to receive at least 80% of the vote and have been retired for at least five consecutive seasons. 

The Associated Press contributed to this report. 

Comment count on this article reflects comments made on and Facebook. Visit Breitbart's Facebook Page.