41 of 121 Players on Florida's 2008 Roster Have been Arrested

41 of 121 Players on Florida's 2008 Roster Have been Arrested

The 2008 Florida Gators, a team that featured Aaron Hernandez and Tim Tebow, won the BCS championship, but 41 of the 121 players on that roster have been arrested. 

According to the New York Times, “a roster on the university’s website lists 121 players, 41 of whom were arrested — either in college or after, and sometimes both. That number included 16 players on that season’s final two-deep roster, nine of whom were starters, as well as a kicker, punter and returner. Several of those players went on to the NFL and one, Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton, transferred and later won the Heisman Trophy at Auburn.”

Urban Meyer, who took over for a scandal-plagued Ohio State program, coached the Florida and has come under fire. He recently commented on the alarming numbers.

“Prayers and thoughts are with the family and friends of the victim,” Meyer told Columbus Post Dispatch. “Relating or blaming these serious charges to the UniversityofFlorida, myself or our staff is wrong and irresponsible.”

Comment count on this article reflects comments made on Breitbart.com and Facebook. Visit Breitbart's Facebook Page.