Ted Cruz Releases List of 50 Republican Elected Officials Who Support Him in CA

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA - APRIL 11: Republican presidential candidate Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) greets supporters as he campaigns for the Republican presidential nomination at a rally on April 11, 2016 in Irvine, California. (Photo by David McNew/Getty Images)
David McNew/Getty

With a massive 172 delegates up for grabs in the Golden State, Sen. Ted Cruz released a list of 50 Republican elected officials supporting him in pursuit of his party’s nomination.

The California primary election isn’t until the end of the primary season on June 7, but absentee ballots go out in the month prior. Cruz has been visiting the home state of former President Reagan, holding rallies, garnering support, meeting with delegates, and raising funds.

At the top of the comprehensive list of new endorsements were current and former state officials:

Diane Harkey, Board of Equalization

Ted Gaines, State Senator

Marie Waldron, Assemblywoman

Travis Allen, Assemblyman

Brian Jones, Assemblyman

Don Wagner, Assemblyman

Jay Obernolte, Assemblyman

Jim Battin, Former State Senator

Dennis Hollingsworth, Former State Senate Republican Leader

Martin Garrick, Former Assembly Republican Leader

Scott Baugh, Former Assembly Republican Leader

“I’m honored to receive the support of Republican leaders who are working hard to put conservative ideas into action in California,” said Cruz in a statement released on Monday. “Conservatives are continuing to unite behind our campaign to win the Republican nomination and defeat Hillary Clinton in November, and the people of California will be critical to our success.”

The Cruz team previously announced endorsements from well-known California Republicans Rep. Tom McClintock, Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, State Assemblywoman Shannon Grove (Bakersfield), and Assemblyman Matthew Harper.

Cruz held events in Orange and San Diego counties on Monday.

A host of endorsements from current and former Orange and San Diego County officials were also announced Monday.

Orange County Officials:

Tony Beall, Rancho Santa Margarita Mayor

Ryan Bent, Yorba Linda Library Commissioner

Alexandria Coronado, former school board member

Alexia Deligianni-Brydges, Orange Unified School Board

Robert Hammond, Orange County Board of Education President

Steven Knoblock, former San Clemente City Councilman

Mark McCurdy, Fountain Valley City Councilman

Mike Munzig, Aliso Viejo City Council

Shawn Nelson, Orange County Supervisor

Scott Peotter, Newport Beach City Council

Dwight Robinson, Lake Forest City Council

Michelle Steel, Orange County Supervisor

Mike Vaughn, Rancho Santa Margarita City Council

San Diego County Officials:

Kristine Alessio, La Mesa City Council

Bill Baber, La Mesa Vice Mayor

Richard Bailey, Coronado City Council

David Chong, La Mesa Spring Valley School Board

Gary Felien, former Oceanside City Councilman

Ed Gallo, Escondido City Council

Robert “Camo” E. Gleisberg, Oceanside School Board

Jan Goldsmith, San Diego City Attorney

Kristal Jabara, San Marcos City Council

Rebecca Jones, San Marcos Vice Mayor

Jim Kelly, Grossmont Union High School District

Christi Knight, Escondido High School District

Ginger Marshall, Solana Beach City Council

John McCann, Chula Vista City Council

Bob McClellan, El Cajon City Council

Guy McWhirter, La Mesa City Council

Mike Morasco, Escondido Vice Mayor

Mark Muir, Encinitas City Council

Maureen “Mo” Muir, San Dieguito High School Board

Mark Packard, Carlsbad City Council

Amanda Rigby, Vista Deputy Mayor

Jean Roesch, former Southwestern Community College District Board Member

Mark Robak, Otay Water District

Robert Shield, Grossmont Union High School District

Randy Voepel, Santee Mayor

Bill Wells, El Cajon Mayor

Rick Winet, La Mesa School Board President

Follow Michelle Moons on Twitter @MichelleDiana