De Blasio, Garcetti Lead Coalition Of Cities, Counties In Brief Supporting Exec. Amnesty

Bill de Blasio testifies in this AP file photo.
AP Photo/Mike Groll

More than 70 cities and counties have signed on to a legal brief in support of President Obama’s executive amnesty.

In February, a Texas district court judge temporarily blocked implementation of Obama’s executive actions on immigration, to allow the case of the 26 states challenging the executive amnesty work its way through the courts. The Obama administration has appealed the decision to the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

In a friend-of-the court brief led by New York Mayor Bill de Blasio and Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, 73 cities and counties as well as the National League of Cities and the U.S. Conference of Mayors argue that the government should be allowed to implement the executive actions.

“Continuing to delay implementation of the President’s executive action on immigration hurts our economy and puts families at risk,” de Blasio said in a statement.

“Cities are where immigrants live, and cities are where the President’s executive action will be successfully implemented,” he added. “Our cities are united, and we will fight for the immigration reform this nation needs and deserves – whether in the courtroom, in Congress, or in our communities. Make no mistake about it: our voices will be heard.”

In addition to de Blasio and Garcetti, Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel, San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee, Houston Mayor Annise Parker, and Boston Mayor Martin J. Walsh offered support for the brief.

Cities and Counties signing onto the brief include:

Alexandria, VA

Allentown, PA

Atlanta, GA

Austin, TX

Baltimore, MD

Bell, CA

Boston, MA

Bridgeport, CT

Buffalo, NY

Cambridge, MA

Central Falls, RI

Chapel Hill, NC

Charleston, SC

Chicago, IL

Coconino County, AZ

Columbia, SC

Columbus, OH

Dallas County, TX

Dayton, OH

Denver, CO

Dolton, IL

El Paso County, TX

Everett, MA

Gary, IN

Haledon, NJ

Hartford, CT

Highland Park, IL

Hoboken, NJ

Holyoke, MA

Houston, TX

Jersey City, NJ

Kansas City, MO

Little Rock, AR

Los Angeles, CA

Los Angeles County, CA

Lucas County, OH

Madison, WI

Milwaukee, WI

Minneapolis, MN

Montgomery County, MD

Newark, NJ

New York, NY

Niagara Falls, NY

North Miami, FL

Oakland, CA

Paterson, NJ

Philadelphia, PA

Pittsburgh, PA

Plainfield, NJ

Portland, OR

Providence, RI

Racine, WI

Ramsey County, MN

Rochester, NY

Salt Lake City, UT

San Francisco, CA

San Jose, CA

Santa Ana, CA

Santa Cruz County, AZ

Santa Fe, NM

Santa Monica, CA

Schenectady, NY

Seattle, WA

Skokie, IL

St. Louis, MO

State College, PA

Syracuse, NY

Tacoma, WA

Tampa, FL

Travis County, TX

Washington, D.C.

West Covina, CA

Yonkers, NY

National League of Cities

U.S. Conference of Mayors