GOP Reps Launch ‘Second Amendment Caucus’ For Pro-Gun Push Under President Trump

Marc Piscotty/Getty

Representative Thomas Massie is giving Breitbart News a heads-up about the launch of a new Congressional Second Amendment Caucus.

The Second Amendment Caucus originally launched in 2004 and was renamed in 2009, when it became a “task force.” Massie is redirecting the group, framing it again as a caucus because of the opportunities Donald Trump’s election affords defenders of the Second Amendment.

The press release includes a statement from Massie, in which he says:

The recent election results present us with a new opportunity to advance pro-gun legislation and reverse the erosion of the Second Amendment that’s occurred over the last few decades. I look forward to working with the new President and this determined group of conservatives to promote a pro-gun agenda,

In addition to pushing a pro-gun, pro-Second Amendment agenda, caucus business will include hosting guest speakers on Capitol Hill. Those will include “firearm experts, constitutional scholars, and pro-gun groups” who will address the importance of the Second Amendment and of specific pieces of legislation as they arise.

Membership in the caucus will be based on a Representative’s pro-gun voting record and their ability to demonstrate a history of “drafting and sponsoring pro-gun legislation.” The founding members of the caucus are: Jeff Duncan (R-SC-3), Ted Yoho (R-FL-3), Brian Babin (R-TX-36), Paul Gosar (R-AZ-4), Mark Meadows (R-NC-11), Ken Buck (R-CO-4), Alex Mooney (R-WV-2), Justin Amash (R-MI-3), Jody Hice (R-GA-10), Dave Brat (R-VA-7), Warren Davidson (R-OH-8), Scott Perry (R-PA-4), and James Comer (R-KY-1).

AWR Hawkins is the Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and host of “Bullets with AWR Hawkins,” a Breitbart News podcast. He is also the political analyst for Armed American Radio. Follow him on Twitter: @AWRHawkins. Reach him directly at