Russia Sanctions 13 Canadian Officials

Russia Sanctions 13 Canadian Officials

Russia imposed sanctions on 13 Canadian officials and they are not allowed to enter the country. Canada has been one of the most outspoken countries against Russia when they invaded Ukraine’s peninsula. They were also the first to take actions against Moscow.

Those actions are the reason behind the sanctions. Adam Hodge, spokesman for Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird, said the sanctions are concerning. Here is the list of people:

Christine Hogan, foreign affairs and defence policy adviser to the prime minister.

Wayne G.Wouters, Clerk of the Privy Council.

Jean-Francois Tremblay, deputy secretary to the cabinet in the Privy Council Office.

Andrew Scheer, House of Commons speaker.

Peter Van Loan, government house leader.

Raynell Andreychuk, Conservative senator.

Dean Allison, Conservative MP.

Paul Dewar, NDP MP.

Irwin Cotler, Liberal MP.

Ted Opitz, Conservative MP.

Chrystia Freeland, Liberal MP.

James Bezan, Conservative MP.

Paul Grod, president of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress.

However, some on the list took to Twitter and said they were happy to be on the list.

Canada immediately took action against Russia when Moscow invaded Crimea’s peninsula on February 23. Prime Minister Stephen Harper cancelled their appearance at the now-cancelled G8 summit in Sochi, Russia while other members of the forum simply stopped preparatory meetings and threatened to boycott it. They also recalled their ambassador from Moscow.

Harper just finished his visit with Ukraine Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk in Kyiv. He is the first leader to actually meet Yatsenyuk and the new government in Ukraine. Yatsenyuk had to fly to Washington, DC to see President Obama and Brussels to meet the leaders of the European Union.