Alabama’s Nick Saban wins 2020 Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant Award

Alabama's Nick Saban wins 2020 Paul 'Bear' Bryant Award

Jan. 13 (UPI) — Alabama Crimson Tide head coach Nick Saban was named the winner of the 2020 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award on Wednesday.

The award recognizes the nation’s top college football coach for his contributions both on and off the field. The award is presented after all bowl games have concluded and is voted on by the National Sports Media Association.

It is the second time Saban has won the national honor in its 35-year history, and the first time the legendary coach has done so at Alabama. He also captured the award in 2003 while coaching at LSU.

“It’s the greatest honor I think of any coaching award, from my standpoint, that anybody could ever receive because of who it’s named after,” Saban said. “I’ve always thought he’s the best coach ever in college football, and I still feel that way.”

None other than the himself.

@bryantawards#BamaFactor #RollTide— Alabama Football (@AlabamaFTBL) January 14, 2021

Saban guided the Crimson Tide to a 13-0 record and a victory over the Ohio State Buckeyes in the College Football Playoff National Championship Game on Monday night. It is his sixth national title in 14 seasons at Alabama and his seventh overall.

The 69-year-old Saban beat out a group of eight finalists that included Indiana coach Tom Allen, Iowa State coach Matt Campbell, Coastal Carolina coach Jamey Chadwell, Oregon coach Mario Cristobal, Texas A&M coach Jimbo Fisher, Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly and Clemson coach Dabo Swinney.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.