Australia bat against Sussex in England tour opener

Jofra Archer, who has starred for Rajasthan Royals, has a chance to show he could play for England as Sussex take on Australia.

Hove (United Kingdom) (AFP) – Sussex captain Ben Brown won the toss and elected to field against Australia in the tourists’ opening one-day warm-up match at Hove on Thursday.

This is Australia’s first match since a tour of South Africa earlier this year saw former captain Steve Smith and his deputy David Warner receive year-long bans for their roles in a ball-tampering scandal during the third Test in Cape Town.

Cameron Bancroft, who applied sandpaper to the ball in a clear breach of cricket’s rulebook, was banned for nine months.

The controversial tour ended with Australia losing the fourth Test in Johannesburg by 492 runs as South Africa completed a 3-1 series win.

As well as the banned trio, Australia arrived in England without injured frontline fast bowlers Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood, as well as sidelined all-rounder Mitchell Marsh.

Thursday’s match and Saturday’s fixture against Middlesex at Lord’s, are warm-up clashes ahead of the world champions’ five-match one-day international series with 2019 World Cup hosts England, who top the 50-over world rankings.

Australia, now captained by wicket-keeper Tim Paine, selected two uncapped players in their XI to play Sussex.

D’Arcy Short was chosen to partner the experienced Aaron Finch at the top of the order, with Michael Neser, yet to play a one-day international, a member of an attack that also including Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye and Kane Richardson.

Off-spinner Nathan Lyon was the 12th man.

Sussex’s team included England ODI paceman Chris Jordan and promising Jofra Archer, who is qualifying for England, having already starred in the Indian Premier League. 

Sussex: Luke Wells, Phil Salt, Harry Finch, Ben Brown (capt/wkt), Laurie Evans, Michael Burgess, David Wiese, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Abi Sakande, Danny Briggs

Australia: D’Arcy Short, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Tim Paine (capt/wkt), Ashton Agar, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson

Umpires: Ian Blackwell (ENG), Graham Lloyd (ENG)