After TN, NV Join, Majority of States Part of Lawsuit Against Exec Amnesty


A majority of states (26) have joined the lawsuit against President Barack Obama’s executive amnesty after Nevada and Tennessee officially joined the multi-state lawsuit on Monday.

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton announced that “Texas is proud to lead a coalition that now includes a majority of the United States standing up against the President’s rogue actions.”

“The momentum against the President’s lawlessness continues to build with Tennessee and Nevada joining the effort to protect our states from the economic and public safety implications of illegal amnesty,” Paxton said in a statement. “As President Obama himself has said numerous times, he lacks the authority to impose amnesty. His actions represent a blatant case of overreach and clear abuse of power.”

The 25 states that have joined Texas in the lawsuit against Obama’s executive amnesty are:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

Twelve states filed a brief in support of Obama’s executive amnesty. A coalition of cities led by New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio and Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti filed a separate brief in support of the executive amnesty.

Federal judge Andrew Hanen heard the case on January 15 and said he would not issue a ruling before January 30.