Saban, Alabama, SEC Legacies on Line in BCS Title Game

Saban, Alabama, SEC Legacies on Line in BCS Title Game

On Monday, Nick Saban, Alabama, and the SEC conference have a chance to cement indelible college football legacies if Alabama defeats top-ranked and undefeated Notre Dame in the BCS title game. 

For Saban, he could become the fourth coach in college football history to have at least four national titles. The other three are the legendary Bear Bryant, the former Alabama coach, John McKay, the former USC coach, and Frank Leahy, the former Notre Dame great. 

In the BCS era, as ESPN noted, Saban “is the only coach with more than two BCS titles and is one of just 10 coaches with three or more national championships in the modern poll era.” If he wins his fourth national title in the last eight years, Saban will also join Leahy as the only coach to have won four titles in 10 years. 

For Alabama, they are trying to the program’s 15th national title. In addition, Alabama, who won the BCS title in 2009 against Texas and last year against LSU, is trying to join Tom Osborne’s Nebraska teams of the 1990s and Leahy’s Notre Dame teams of the 1940s as the only schools to win three titles in four years. 

The Crimson Tide and junior quarterback A.J. McCarron are also attempting to become the first team and quarterback to win back-to-back BCS titles.

And for the SEC, the conference is trying to win its seventh straight BCS championship. ESPN mentioned a remarkable stat — the SEC has eight BCS championships. To put this in perspective, all other conference have six BCS titles combined and “no conference has won more than two BCS championships.”