WKU Wins Sun Belt Again to become Breitbart Sports' 50th Bid, 18 left

WKU Wins Sun Belt Again to become Breitbart Sports' 50th Bid, 18 left

Anyone who doesn’t believe that almost every team gets invited to the “National” March Madness tournament, need only look at Western Kentucky. The Hilltoppers do not have a top 500 player on www.valueaddbasketball.com, and have not had a winning season in the Sun Belt Conference any of the past three season. Yet in the Sun Belt tournaments those same three years, they are 10-1, and Monday they were the 50th team to make the tournament (see list of all 50 below).

Jamal Cook, the team’s best player but only the 533rd best player in the country, scored 17 points while George Fant also scored 17 and added 13 rebounds in the 65-63 win.

Florida International had provided the first spoiler in the semifinals, by defeating 1-seed and NCAA lock Middle Tennessee in the semifinal.

Others will argue that our selection of Middle Tennessee as a lock was premature, since their two biggest wins are over Vanderbilt on a neutral court and Mississippi at home. However, the starting point for selections is the RPI, and by that count Middle Tennessee is the 27th best team in the country, and even when adjusting for the more scientific numbers at www.kenpom.com they rank as the 31st best team.

While lacking size, they may finish as the only team in the country with four guards in the Top 500 in Value Add with Marcos Knight (6-foot-2), Bruce MAssey (6-3), Tweety Knight( 6-1) and Raymond Cintron (6-0).

The following is the updated list of the 50 teams that are in the tournament. They are listed alphabetically, except the four teams that were added tonight are listed on top – Davidson, Iona, James Madison and Western Kentucky.

Team, Conf

  1. Davidson, SC
  2. Iona, MAAC
  3. James Madison, CAA
  4. Western Kentucky, SB
  5. Arizona, P12
  6. Belmont, OVC
  7. Butler, A10
  8. California, P12
  9. Cincinnati, BE
  10. Colorado, P12
  11. Colorado St., MWC
  12. Creighton, MVC
  13. Duke, ACC
  14. Florida, SEC
  15. Florida Gulf Coast, ASun
  16. Georgetown, BE
  17. Gonzaga, WCC
  18. Harvard, Ivy
  19. Illinois, B10
  20. Indiana, B10
  21. Kansas, B12
  22. Kansas St., B12
  23. La Salle, A10
  24. Liberty, BSth
  25. Louisville, BE
  26. Marquette, BE
  27. Memphis, CUSA
  28. Miami FL, ACC
  29. Michigan, B10
  30. Michigan St., B10
  31. Middle Tennessee, SB
  32. Minnesota, B10
  33. Missouri, SEC
  34. Nevada Las Vegas, MWC
  35. New Mexico, MWC
  36. North Carolina, ACC
  37. North Carolina St., ACC
  38. Notre Dame, BE
  39. Ohio St., B10
  40. Oklahoma, B12
  41. Oklahoma St., B12
  42. Oregon, P12
  43. Pittsburgh, BE
  44. San Diego St., MWC
  45. St. Louis, A10
  46. Syracuse, BE
  47. UCLA, P12
  48. Virginia Commonwealth, A10
  49. Wichita St., MVC
  50. Wisconsin, B10