UConn Blows Out Notre Dame, Can Tie Vols 8 Titles

UConn Blows Out Notre Dame, Can Tie Vols 8 Titles

Freshman Breanna Stewart scored 29 points and UConn broke a losing streak against Notre Dame with a 83-65 win Sunday. UConn will now go to their eighth NCAA title game, where they have never lost, and if they beat Louisville they will tie Tennessee with eight women’s titles (see list of all years for both schools below).

Tennessee made it many more times, but went 8-5 once in the title game.

UConn finally found a defense to push Notre Dame star Skylar Diggins from her favorites spots on the court. Diggins had beaten UConn in two national semifinal games and had already beaten them three times, but went only 3 of 15 form the floor to end her career Sunday.

The win sets up one final Big East basketball game before Louisville and Notre Dame head to the ACC and UConn goes to the American Athletic Conference, the conference of Big East teams left behind when the Catholic 7 organized.

With the Louisville men playing in the title game Monday, this year marks the second year in history (SEC 1996 being the other) where one conference has three of four teams in the two title games.

For complete AP coverage of the game, click here.

The following is the list of the 15 years in which either UConn or Tennessee won the women’s title.

Year Champ
1987 Tennessee
1989 Tennessee
1991 Tennessee
1995 Connecticut
1996 Tennessee
1997 Tennessee
1998 Tennessee
2000 Connecticut
2002 Connecticut
2003 Connecticut
2004 Connecticut
2007 Tennessee
2008 Tennessee
2009 Connecticut
2010 Connecticut
2013 Conn or Louisville