“At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules,” Woods tweeted. “I didn’t know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning..and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round.
Their initial determination…was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation…..with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees’ decision.”
Woods was assessed a two-shot penalty after Woods’s post-round comments and after a viewer reportedly called the Masters to notify the tournament of Woods’s violation after he took a drop on the 15th hole after his approach shot hit the flag stick and rolled into the water.
The Masters and Woods have said they had determined he did not violate the rule prior to signing his scorecard and only deemed he did after, especially after Woods told ESPN after his round that he dropped the ball two yards behind the original spot so he could take better aim at the hole.
Because of a 2012 loophole that allows a tournament to penalize golfers after a round of play without disqualifying them from the tournament, the Masters determined they did not have to disqualify Woods from the tournament. Many in the golf world are calling upon Woods to withdraw and give up the opportunity to win his fifth Masters and 15th major.
Woods was at -3 when he signed his scorecard on Friday. Should he play on Saturday, he will begin the third round at -1.