Taiwan Blows 7-4 Lead in Final Frame, Eliminated

Taiwan Blows 7-4 Lead in Final Frame, Eliminated

(AP) Panama rallies to beat Taiwan at LLWS
AP Sports Writer
Getting hit in the left foot by a pitch never felt so good to Jose Gonzalez.

As the Aguadulce, Panama, infielder limped his way toward first base, Edgardo Rosales was celebrating on his way home from third to score the decisive run. It happened with two outs and the bases loaded in the bottom of the sixth, sealing Panama’s 8-7 win over Taoyuan, Taiwan, in a Little League World Series elimination game Tuesday.

Down to its last out, Panama rallied with four runs to overcome a 7-4 deficit.

Jordan Agrazal had three RBIs, including a two-run single in the sixth. And Rosales would not have been in a position to score had he not reached base because of a two-out error by Yeh Tung-Jua, who bobbled a grounder to third.

Panama (3-1) advanced to face one of the two other remaining International Division teams _ Tijuana, Mexico, or Tokyo _ on Thursday.

For Taiwan, it was a shocking turn of events for the tournament’s youngest team, which includes five 11-year-olds _ the most of any squad. Several Taiwan players, including catcher Lee Chen-Hsun, broke down in tears following the game.

Panama catcher Juan Crisp and several teammates went over to console their opponents.

Taiwan manager Lee Kuo-Chiang provided essentially the same answer in taking only three questions following the game.

Yu Teng-Yao took the loss in relief of Tung-Jua, who was forced to leave with one out in the fifth after reaching his 85-pitch limit.

Taiwan showed plenty of perseverance in rallying to take the lead after giving up four runs in the first inning.

Lee Shu-Ming had a two-run single to cap a six-run third inning that put Taiwan ahead 7-4. Chou Shih-Che drove in two runs on three hits for Taiwan.

Armando Lopez hit a three-run homer in the first inning for Panama.

Earlier in the day, Brno, Czech Republic (1-2), beat Grosse Pointe, Mich. (0-3), 5-3 in a consolation game, ending both teams’ tournament.