Senate Votes to Defy FCC, Reinstate Net Neutrality

WASHINGTON, DC - APRIL 18: Federal Communications Commission Chairman Ajit Pai waits to be
Alex Wong/Getty Images

The Senate voted on Wednesday to save the FCC’s Obama-era net neutrality rules, which are set to expire on June 11.

Democrats used a little-known legislative mechanism known as the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to force a vote. Three Republican senators — Susan Collins (R-ME), John Kennedy (R-MS), and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) voted for the measure.

Despite the Senate’s best efforts to have the rules reinstated, the bill has little chance of passing the Republican-controlled House.

The Commission — now chaired by Ajit Pai — repealed the order in April.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.