Team Trump Announces Five Year Lobbying Ban for Administration Officials

Drain the Swamp Evan VucciAP
Evan Vucci/AP

President-elect Donald Trump’s transition team announced that they will institute a five year lobbying ban on members of their administration.

The ban was announced by Trump transition team official Sean Spicer, who stated that each member of the administration would be required to sign a form stating that they would not be a lobbyist.

Spicer added that registered federal or state lobbyists would not be allowed to serve in the Trump administration, but did not explicitly mention former lobbyists.

“It goes back to Mr. Trump’s goal of making sure that people aren’t using government to enrich themselves,” Spicer said on a conference call with reporters.

The Trump transition team will meet with former National Security Advisor Henry Kissinger, Gov. Nikki Haley, Gov. Rick Scott, Fred Smith, House Financial Services Committee Chairman Jeb Hensarling, Gen. Jack Keane, Admiral Mike Rogers, and former Secretary of State Ken Blackwell on Thursday, the team revealed.

The transition team will also former several “landing teams” to go to federal agencies to facilitate the transition. The first teams would meet with National Security Agency, the State Department, the Justice Department, and the Defense Department with plans to launch further endeavors.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.