Tiger's Agent Threatens to Sue Analyst for Implying Woods Cheats on Course
Tiger Woods's agent said he may sue golf analyst Brandel Chamblee after Chamblee insinuated that Woods was a cheater on the golf course.
"There's nothing you can call a golfer worse than a cheater," Mark Steinberg, Woods's agent, told ESPN. "This is the most deplorable thing I have seen. I'm not one for hyperbole, but this is absolutely disgusting. Calling him a cheater? I'll be shocked, stunned if something is not done about this. Something has to be done.
"There are certainly things that just don't go without response. It's atrocious. I'm not sure if there isn't legal action to be taken. I have to give some thought to legal action."
In a Golf.com analysis, Chamblee, who has criticized Woods harshly over the years, gave Woods an "F" and called him out as a cheater after Woods had four high-profile rules controversies this season.
"When I was in the fourth grade, I cheated on a math test and when I got the paper back it had '100' written at the top and just below the grade, was this quote: 'Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive!' It was an oft-quoted line from the epic poem 'Marmion' by Sir Walter Scott, and my teacher's message was clear. Written once more beneath that quote was my grade of '100,' but this time with a line drawn through it and beneath that an F. I never did ask my teacher how she knew I cheated and I certainly didn't protest the grade. I knew I had done the wrong thing and my teacher the right, but I never forgot the way I felt when I read that quote. I remember when we only talked about Tiger's golf. I miss those days. He won five times and contended in majors and won the Vardon Trophy and ... how shall we say this ... was a little cavalier with the rules."
Chamblee crossed out the "100" on his column and had an "F" appear under it. Woods has had controversies at the Abu Dhabi Championship, the Masters, the Players Championship, and the BMW Championship, with the most high-profile controversy being his ball-drop controversy that cost him two strokes and perhaps the Masters tournament.
"There's nothing you can call a golfer worse than a cheater," Steinberg said. "This is the most deplorable thing I have seen. I'm not one for hyperbole, but this is absolutely disgusting. Calling him a cheater? I'll be shocked, stunned if something is not done about this. Something has to be done."