Home Run Derby Seeding

AP Photo
The Associated Press

The annual MLB home-run derby takes place Monday night at 8 p.m. Eastern.

Here’s the seeding:

1. Mark Trumbo, OF, Baltimore Orioles
2. Todd Frazier, 3B, Chicago White Sox
3. Adam Duvall, OF, Cincinnati Reds
4. Robinson Cano, 2B, Seattle Mariners,
5. Giancarlo Stanton, OF, Miami Marlins,
6. Wil Myers, 1B, San Diego Dodgers
7. Carlos Gonzalez, OF, Colorado Rockies
8. Corey Seager, SS, Los Angeles Dodgers,

Trumbo leads MLB with 28 home runs. Frazier, who boasts 25, defends his title in the home run derby. Myers and Seager, owners of 19 and 18 dingers respectively, likely swing as fan favorites for Southern California spectators at Petco Park.

Despite pleas from Madison Bumgarner, pitchers watch rather than participate in the contest. Giants manager Bruce Bochy explained, “The Players Union doesn’t want a pitcher taking a player’s spot and I don’t think they were keen on the pitchers thing this year.” Boo!