Brussels slams seven EU states for ‘aggressive’ tax policies

Brussels (AFP) – Seven EU countries including the Netherlands and Hungary will on Wednesday face unprecedented criticism from Brussels for “aggressive” tax policies that undercut other member states, the bloc’s economic affairs commissioner said.

“For the first time, the Commission is stressing the issue of aggressive tax planning in seven EU countries: Belgium, Cyprus, Hungary, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta and The Netherlands,” Pierre Moscovici said on Tuesday, the eve of the release of a regular European Commission report on member states’ economies.