33 GOP Senators Voted Against Advancing Ryan-Murray Deal

33 GOP Senators Voted Against Advancing Ryan-Murray Deal

While 12 Republican Senators voted with Senate Democrats to proceed to a vote of final passage on the budget deal from House Budget Committee Chairman Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI) and Senate Budget Committee Chairwoman Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA), 33 Senate Republicans stood up to the deal and voted against cloture.

The 12 Republicans who helped Senate Majority Leader Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV) get the bill past the procedural hurdle are: Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Rob Portman (R-OH), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Susan Collins (R-ME), John Hoeven (R-ND), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), and John McCain (R-AZ).

In contrast, the majority of Senate Republicans, including all of the Senate GOP leadership, voted against the procedural hurdle to advance the plan to a final vote. Even Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC), who argued Ryan’s work on this deal makes him presidential material, voted against cloture on the deal.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, Minority Whip John Cornyn, GOP conference chairman John Thune, and Republican policy committee chairman John Barrasso all voted against cloture.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.