White House Compiles List of Trump’s Actions to Counter Russian Interference in U.S. Elections 

Rod Rosenstein
Brendan Smialowski/AFP/Getty

The White House distributed this week a long and detailed list of the actions President Donald Trump and his administration have taken to address Russian interference in U.S. elections, including the 2016 presidential election.

The list’s distribution comes after the recent Department of Justice (DOJ) announcement from Special Counsel Robert Mueller detailing the indictment of 12 Russian military intelligence personnel for Russian hacking of the Democratic National Committee (DNC) emails during the 2016 election.

Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein said at the announcement of the indictment that Russian election interference had no direct effect on the election at the ballot box or its outcome.

Trump also tweeted a video compilation on Thursday of him calling out the Russians for election interference.

The list includes:

• In May 2017 Trump signed an Executive Order to strengthen and review the nation’s cybersecurity and its critical infrastructure, including a long-delayed modernization of cybersecurity systems across the federal government.

• The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is working with all 50 states, local governments, and private companies to improve election security and integrity.

• DHS will provide on-site risk and vulnerability assessments for any states that request an assessment. To date, 18 States have asked for an assessment and 16 have already been completed ahead of the 2018 midterm elections, according to the White House.

• A pilot program has been launched to share information between state and local officials and the Election Assistance Commission (EAC) to allow for rapid response on midterm election day.

• During the 2017 elections, the Trump administration provided on-site cybersecurity support to states at their request.

• In March 2018 Congress provided the EAC with $380 million in funding for election assistance grants to states.

• In March 2018 the administration imposed sanctions against 16 Russian entities and individuals for their roles in Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election.

• The Trump administration has maintained the closure of two Russian compounds and the expulsion of 35 diplomats in response to Russian interference in the 2016 election.

Follow @PennyStarrDC on Twitter


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.