Conservatives Release Memo in Opposition to Neera Tanden’s Nomination to Head OMB

Neera Tanden, director of the Office and Management and Budget (OMB) nominee testifies before the Senate Homeland Security and Government Affairs committee on her nomination to become the director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), during a hearing at the US Capitol in Washington, DC on February 9, …

The Conservative Action Project, a coalition of conservative groups and leaders, released a memorandum entitled: “Neera Tanden is Unfit to Lead the Office of Management and Budget.”

The coalition hopes to disseminate the memo across social media and other platforms to put pressure on Senators to oppose President Joe Biden nominating Tanden, who has a far-left policy record, including during her tenure as president of the left-wing Center for American Progress.

The memo stated:

Conservatives strongly oppose the confirmation of Neera Tanden to lead the Office of Management and Budget (OMB).

It is critical that the OMB director lead the agency with sound judgment, as well as bipartisan civility. Tanden has shown neither.

A 2018 report found Tanden mishandled the personal details of a sexual harassment allegation at the Center for American Progress, the organization which she led. She is also accused of pushing or hitting a reporter during her tenure as a senior aide to Hillary Clinton’s presidential campaign.

As House Budget Committee Republicans recently noted, “it would be the height of irresponsibility to put someone with this documented managerial record in the top leadership role at a major federal agency, responsible for hundreds of civil servants, putting at risk the rights and protections guaranteed to the employers of OMB.”

Tanden also has significant financial ties to Wall Street financiers, Silicon Valley, defense contractors, the health care industry, and foreign governments – all of whom made substantial donations to Center for American Progress under Tanden’s leadership. These companies include, but are not limited to, Facebook, and Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg’s foundation, the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, Bain Capital, Blackstone, Evercore, Walmart, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield, Northrup Grumman, and Devry Education Group. Such entanglements raise concerns of who would have access and influence to OMB under her watch.

Finally, Tanden has also demonstrated deeply partisan behavior, regularly taking to social media to attack Republican office holders rather than work with them to build coalitions toward public policy goals. She has called Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine) “the worst,” Sen. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) “a fraud,” stated that “vampires have more heart than Ted Cruz,” and called Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) “Moscow Mitch” and “Voldemort.” She has publicly insinuated that Russia helped the presidential campaign of Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.). Tanden has also stated that Republican Party’s “capacity for evil knows no bounds.”

Neera Tanden has not demonstrated the judgment, civility, or disposition to lead one of the most important offices of the executive branch. We believe her tenure would be marked by more naked partisanship and influence peddling than fair mindedness and sober diligence toward the well-being of all Americans. We urge Senate Republicans to strongly oppose her confirmation.

The 66 people sign who signed the letter include:

The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

Alfred S. Regnery

Chairman, Conservative Action Project

President, Republic Book Publishers

Tom McClusky


March for Life Action

The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell


The Leadership Institute

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell


Constitutional Congress, Inc.

The Honorable David McIntosh


Club for Growth

Scott T. Parkinson

VP for Government Affairs

Club for Growth

Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.

Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.

President and CEO, First Liberty Institute

L. Brent Bozell, III

Founder and President

Media Research Center

Jenny Beth Martin


Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Christopher Malagisi

Executive Director of Outreach

Hillsdale College

The Honorable Jim DeMint

Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute

Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)

Ed Corrigan

Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project

President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute

Rachel Bovard

Senior Director of Policy

Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)

Myron Ebell

Director, Center for Energy and Environment

Competitive Enterprise Institute

William L. Walton


Council for National Policy

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Chief Domestic Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

Penny Y. Nance

President & CEO

Concerned Women for America

Lisa B. Nelson The Honorable Tony Perkins


Family Research Council

Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)

Executive Vice President

Family Research Council

Daniel Schneider

Executive Director

American Conservative Union

Floyd Brown


Western Center for Journalism

Alan E. Sears


Alliance Defending Freedom

The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.

Managing Editor

Justin Danhof

General Counsel

National Center for Public Policy Research

Anne Schlafly Cori


Eagle Forum

David N. Bossie


Citizens United

Dr. Richard Lee

President and CEO

There’s Hope America

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer


American Values

Mike Davis

Founder and President

Article III Project (A3P)

Nancy Schulze

Founder, President

RCW Speakers

Kent Glesener

President & CEO

Paradigm Construction & Engineering, Inc.

Christie Glesener


Shofar International Foundation

Craig Shirley

Reagan Biographer

Presidential Historian

Steve Berger

Founding Pastor

Grace Chapel

Don Woodsmall


Arromid, LLC

Eaton Hopkins


Liberty Surgical

Seton Motley


Less Government

Gary Marx


The Concord Fund

C. Preston Noell III


Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Twila Brase, RN, PHN

President and Co-founder

Citizens’ Council for Health Freedom

Jay Mount


MDS Communications Corporation

Chad Connelly


Faith Wins

The Honorable Peter J. Thomas


The Conservative Caucus

William W. Pascoe, III

Board Member

Tea Party Patriots Action

Judson Phillips


Tea Party Nation

Jack Park

Conservative Activist and Donor

Law Offices of Jack Park

Elaine Donnelly


Center for Military Readiness

The Honorable Mike Hill

Former Member

Florida State House

Mario Navarro da Costa

Director, Washington Bureau

Tradition, Family, Property

David Haas


Morrison Inc.

Saulius “Saul” Anuzis


60 Plus Association

James L. Martin


60 Plus Association

Andresen Blom


Hawaiian Values

Amapola Hansberger

Founder and President

Legal Immigrants for America

Kay R. Daly


Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Ron Pearson

Executive Director

Conservative Victory Fund

Joan Holt Lindsey


Lindsey Communications

Paul Gessing


Rio Grande Foundation

Wade Kirby

Director of Development


Dr. Richard Rounsavelle



Penna Dexter


Point of View Radio

Tim Throckmorton


Lifepointe Ministries

Curt Levey


Committee for Justice

Ashley Baker

Director of Public Policy

Committee for Justice

Follow Penny Starr on Twitter or send news tips to


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.