Brian Kemp Signs Bill Making Georgia 25th Constitutional Carry State

In this image provided by the Georgia Port Authority, Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp speaks durin
Stephen Morton/Georgia Port Authority via AP

Gov. Brian Kemp (R) signed legislation Tuesday making Georgia the 25th constitutional carry state in the Union.

To put it another way, half of U.S. states are now constitutional carry states.

FOX 5 Atlanta reports that Kemp signed the bill and said, “[This] makes sure that  law-abiding Georgians — law-abiding Georgians, including our daughters and your family too — can protect themselves without having the permission of the state government. The Constitution of the United States gives us that right, not the government.”

In the lead-up to signing the legislation Kemp made clear  that Georgians’ “carry permit is the Second Amendment.”

The other 24 constitutional carry states are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

AWR Hawkins is an award-winning Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and the writer/curator of Down Range with AWR Hawkinsa weekly newsletter focused on all things Second Amendment, also for Breitbart News. He is the political analyst for Armed American Radio and a Turning Point USA Ambassador. Follow him on Instagram: @awr_hawkins. Reach him at You can sign up to get Down Range at


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.