Round 1: Big12 80, MEAC 58 and MAAC 78, Sum 72

Round 1: Big12 80, MEAC 58 and MAAC 78, Sum 72

In San Antonio, Oklahoma St. Point Guard Marcus Smart held his counterpart to only three points, while Smart’s teammate Markel Brown won the battle at small forward with 12 points. The 2-seed Big 12 beat the MEAC 80-58 to advance to Memphis to play the 15-seed MAAC. The MAAC survived a very evenly matched game with the Summit League due mainly to Canisius center Jordan Heath winning the battle at center 12-7.

In the mock tournament, all 32 conferences were seeded based on their ratings at, and then sent to their likely 2014 tournament sites. The top 10 players to date from each conference were pitted against their counterpart using the Value Add Predictor  to determine how many points each player would score against his counterpart, with the winning team advancing. All players can be looked up at The following are the box scores for both games: 

All-Star (1st 5 starters) B12 80 Position All-Star (1st 5 starters) MEAC 58
Marcus Smart Oklahoma St. 7 PG Emanuel Chapman NC Central 3
Juwan Staten West Virginia 10 SG Jeremy Ingram NC Central 10
Markel Brown Oklahoma St. 12 SF Malcolm Hawkins Norfolk St. 9
Dustin Hogue Iowa St. 12 PF Pendarvis Williams Norfolk St. 11
Joel Embiid Kansas 9 C Jordan Parks NC Central 3
Kyan Anderson Texas Christian 6 PG-bu Jamie Adams Florida A&M 4
Brady Heslip Baylor 9 SG-bu Richaud Pack North Carolina A&T 7
Jaye Crockett Texas Tech 4 SF-bu Du’Vaughn Maxwell Hampton 2
Perry Ellis Kansas 5 PF-bu Jyles Smith Savannah St. 2
Andrew Wiggins Kansas 6 C-bu Brandon Goode Norfolk St. 7

All-Star (1st 5 starters) MAAC 78 Position All-Star (1st 5 starters) Sum 72
Billy Baron Canisius 10 PG Pierre Bland IUPU Fort Wayne 9
Zaid Hearst Quinnipiac 12 SG Brett Olson Denver 10
Sean Armand Iona 11 SF Chris Udofia Denver 11
George Beamon Manhattan 11 PF Taylor Braun North Dakota St. 12
Jordan Heath Canisius 12 C Marshall Bjorklund North Dakota St. 7
Michael Alvarado Manhattan 4 PG-bu Mo Evans IUPU Fort Wayne 4
Emmy Andujar Manhattan 3 SG-bu TrayVonn Wright North Dakota St. 3
Deon Jones Monmouth 4 SF-bu Matt Hagerbaumer Nebraska Omaha 4
Daniel Stewart Rider 8 PF-bu Jordan Dykstra South Dakota St. 7
Rhamel Brown Manhattan 3 C-bu Mike Rostampour Nebraska Omaha 5


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.