Hall of Fame Finalists Announced Super Bowl Weekend, Michael Strahan Leads All

Hall of Fame Finalists Announced Super Bowl Weekend, Michael Strahan Leads All

On Saturday, the day before the Super Bowl, seven men were selected for the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame. Defensive End Michael Strahan received the most votes.

Michael Strahan, Andre Reed, Walter Jones, Derrick Brooks, Aeneas Williams, Claude Humphrey and Ray Guy are the newest football immortals headed for enshrinement in Canton. Humphrey and Guy were Veterans Committee candidates.

Guy is the first punter to be elected to the Hall of Fame. 

Guy was a Raiders legend, playing 14 seasons with the Silver and Black. His resume is dazzling: seven Pro Bowls, eight-time All-Pro, three-time Super Bowl champion and a member for the NFL’s 75th Anniversary Team. Known for his high leg kick and tremendous hangtime on punts, Guy practically wrote the book on the position. If there had to be a first punter elected to Canton, it makes perfect sense that it’s this man. Maybe his election will open the door for more special-teamers to find their way into the hallowed Hall.

2013 was Strahan’s first year of eligibility and experts could not understand why he was not voted in on his first try. He was drafted by the Giants in the second round out of Texas Southern in 1993. He was the 2001 Defensive Player of the Year when he achieved the single-season sack record with 22.5 and on the 2000s all decade team. Strahan is now an analyst for FOX Sports and appears on LIVE with Kelly and Michael.

This was Derrick Brooks’ first year of eligibility. He was a star linebacker on the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and a main reason why they won Super Bowl XXXVII in 2002 against the Oakland Raiders. He was selected on the 2000s All-Decade team with Strahan.

Here are the men left off the list: Marvin Harrison, Tony Dungy, Morten Anderson, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Eddie DeBartolo, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, John Lynch and Will Shields.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.