GOP Announces Debate Schedule for 9 Republican Debates

Associated Press
Associated Press

On Friday, the Republican National Committee announced the dates and sponsors for its nine sanctioned debates from August 2015 through March 1, 2016.

“The 2016 cycle is underway, and I can tell you it will be a landmark election for Republicans,” said RNC Chairman Reince Priebus in a statement. “This schedule ensures we will  have a robust discussion among our candidates while also allowing the candidates to focus their time engaging with Republican voters.”

The GOP’s nine sanctioned debates are as follows:

1. Fox News
August 2015

2. CNN
September 2015

October 2015

4. Fox Business
November 2015

5. CNN
December 2015

6. Fox News
January 2016

7. ABC News
February 2016
New Hampshire

8. CBS News
February 2016
South Carolina

9. NBC/Telemundo
February 2016

The RNC says it will make additional announcements in the days ahead regarding broadcast and conservative media partners and panelists.

“The American people are tired of President Obama’s policies, and I am confident the debate process will enable candidates to communicate their ideas and ultimately help us elect a Republican president in 2016 to get our country back on track,” said Priebus.