Texas Congressman Weber Tweets He’s Voting for Gohmert in Speaker Race

Randy Weber
(AP Photo/FILE/Pat Sullivan)

Texas Congressman Randy Weber announced this morning via Twitter he is voting for fellow Texas Republican Congressman Louie Gohmert to be the next Speaker of the House of Representatives. The second term Congressman from southeast Texas tweeted his support early on Tuesday morning. The vote for Speaker is scheduled for Noon Eastern Time.

Breitbart Texas contacted Weber last week to ask if he would be voting for Speaker John Boehner. At that time he said there was no one else in the race. He did not say how he would cast his vote. Now, with an alternative choice Weber has firmly planted his flag in the effort to remove Boehner from the Speaker’s Office.

Weber’s Tweet:

In order to have any chance of success in this effort twenty-nine Republicans will have to vote for someone other than Boehner, according to an article in The Hill. Currently there are thirteen members who have pledged to vote against the Speaker. Six other members are listed as possible votes against the Speaker including Texas Congressman-elect John Ratcliffe.

Houston Congressman Ted Poe announced on the Sam Malone Radio Show on Monday he had not yet made a decision as to who he would vote for, according to a Breitbart Texas article by Lana Shadwick. This writer reached out to Poe this morning to see if he has made a decision yet. As of this time, no response has been received.

It is possible that some Democrats could move their votes to Boehner in order to avoid a more conservative Speaker being placed into the Speaker’s Office. This would make the removal effort much more difficult.

If Boehner does not receive a majority vote of the members voting, the race will move to a second round. This process will continue until one candidate has a majority vote.

List of known votes against Boehner, according to The Hill:


Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.)* — “It’s time for Republicans to change our leadership,” he wrote in a Facebook post. Amash has a history of bucking GOP leadership.

Rep. Randy Weber (R-Texas) — Tweeted that Gohmert “is not afraid to take the fight to the president.”

Rep. Dave Brat (R-Va.) — Freshman who knocked off House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-Va.) had said he’d support Boehner, but flipped this week.

Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.)* — Disapproved of how the $1.1 trillion spending bill was handled last month.

Rep. Curt Clawson (R-Fla.) — “Now is a good time for change,” he tweeted Tuesday.

Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas)* — Outspoken Boehner critic says he’ll run for Speaker. Gohmert is friends with Fox News host Sean Hannity, who has called for Boehner’s ouster.

Rep. Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.)

Rep.-elect Gary Palmer (R-Ala.) — Stated on the campaign trail that he wouldn’t back Boehner for Speaker. However, Palmer later said he regretted that pledge “to a certain extent” because it might threaten his ability to secure preferred committee assignments. Still, Palmer said he told Boehner he would need to keep his word.

Rep. Walter Jones (R-N.C.)* — Maverick lawmaker says he’ll back Rep. Daniel Webster (R-Fla.) for Speaker.

Rep. Steve King (R-Iowa) — Hard-line opponent of immigration reform backed Boehner two years ago. Since then, Boehner reportedly called King an “asshole” behind closed doors. Boehner ripped his GOP colleague after King made his controversial “canteloupe” remarks regarding DREAMers.

Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Ky.)*

Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-Ind.) — Stutzman lost whip race to Rep. Steve Scalise (R-La.). Bridenstine says he’s been told Stutzman will oppose Boehner.

Rep. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.)* — Challenging Boehner for Speaker.


Rep.-elect Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.) — Was critical of Boehner on campaign trail.

Rep.-elect Jody Hice (R-Ga.) — Expressed dissent against Boehner when the House GOP Conference held its leadership elections in November.

Rep.-elect Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.) — Freshman said he’d stand up to Boehner.

Rep. Steve Pearce (R-N.M.)* — Pearce voted against Boehner in 2013, but is undecided this time.

Rep.-elect John Ratcliffe (R-Texas) — Defeated former Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Texas) in primary.

Rep.-elect Mark Walker (R-N.C.) —  Walker indicated he wouldn’t support Boehner during his GOP primary, but has hedged since.



Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.) — Frequent critic of Boehner.

Rep. Raul Labrador (R-Idaho) — Lost long-shot bid to defeat Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) last year.

Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.) — Like Labrador, Mulvaney abstained from voting in 2013.

Bob Price is a senior political news contributor for Breitbart Texas and a member of the original Breitbart Texas team. Follow him on Twitter @BobPriceBBTX.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.