Swing State Democrats Tank ‘Hire American’ Rule in Infrastructure Bill

WASHINGTON, DC - JULY 15: U.S. Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV) (C) talks to reporters as he leaves after a meeting with members of Texas House Democratic Caucus at the U.S. Capitol July 15, 2021 in Washington, DC. Members of Texas House Democratic Caucus continued their efforts to meet with U.S. …
Alex Wong/Getty Images

A handful of Senate Democrats, representing swing states, joined the majority of their caucus in helping tank a plan that would have required American infrastructure jobs go to American citizens and legal immigrants, not illegal aliens.

Last week, Sen. James Lankford (R-OK) proposed an amendment to the infrastructure bill that would have prohibited federal funds going to any entity that failed to enroll in and comply with the E-Verify program to ensure illegal aliens are not hired for infrastructure jobs over Americans and legal immigrants.

The amendment failed when a number of swing state Senate Democrats joined most of their colleagues in opposing the “Hire American” requirement, including:

  • Joe Manchin (D-WV)
  • Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
  • Jon Tester (D-MT)
  • Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
  • Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
  • Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
  • Michael Bennet (D-CO)
  • Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
  • Bob Casey (D-PA)
  • Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)
  • John Hickenlooper (D-CO)
  • Gary Peters (D-MI)

The “Hire American” amendment was supported by 53 Senators — including all Senate Republicans and Senate Democrats Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), and Raphael Warnock (D-GA).

On Tuesday, without securing the “Hire American” requirement, 19 Senate Republicans helped pass the infrastructure bill.

Those Senate Republicans include Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Rob Portman (R-OH), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jim Risch (R-ID), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), John Hoeven (R-ND), Susan Collins (R-ME), and Mitt Romney (R-UT).

John Binder is a reporter for Breitbart News. Email him at jbinder@breitbart.com. Follow him on Twitter here. 


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.