Round 1: A10 74, ASun 57 and WCC 93, NEC 71

Round 1: A10 74, ASun 57 and WCC 93, NEC 71

In Spokane, Nine of 10 Atlantic 10 players bested their counterparts from the Atlantic Sun, with UMass Center Cady Lalane outscoring Mercer’s Daniel Coursey 10-4 in an easy 74-57 win. The 8-seed A10 team advances to Indianapolis to play the 9-seed WCC which dominated the NEC 93-71. The combination of St. Mary’s and Gonzaga stars overcame a strong showing by a duo of stars from Robert Morris, which stunned Kentucky last season. Gonzaga shooting guard Kevin Pangos was the high scorer from all 16 first round games. 

In the mock tournament, all 32 conferences were seeded based on their ratings at, and then sent to their likely 2014 tournament sites. The top 10 players to date from each conference were pitted against their counterpart using the Value Add Predictor  to determine how many points each player would score against his counterpart, with the winning team advancing. All players can be looked up at The following are the box scores for both games: 

All-Star (1st 5 starters) A10 74 Position All-Star (1st 5 starters) ASun 57
Chaz Williams Massachusetts 9 PG Jordan Jackson Northern Kentucky 7
Cedrick Lindsay Richmond 10 SG Ty Greene South Carolina Upstate 8
Langston Galloway St. Joseph’s 12 SF Langston Hall Mercer 10
Briante Weber Virginia Commonwealth 6 PF Vince Martin Jacksonville 4
Cady Lalanne Massachusetts 10 C Daniel Coursey Mercer 4
Tyreek Duren La Salle 3 PG-bu Orlando Coleman Kennesaw St. 2
Joe McDonald George Washington 6 SG-bu Willie Green Stetson 4
Kethan Savage George Washington 6 SF-bu Jakob Gollon Mercer 3
Treveon Graham Virginia Commonwealth 7 PF-bu Bud Thomas Mercer 5
Juvonte Reddic Virginia Commonwealth 5 C-bu Chase Fieler Florida Gulf Coast 10
All-Star (1st 5 starters) WCC 93 Position All-Star (1st 5 starters) NEC 71
Anthony Ireland Loyola Marymount 10 PG Sidney Sanders Fairleigh Dickinson 8
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga 15 SG Dyami Starks Bryant 11
Stephen Holt St. Mary’s 11 SF Lucky Jones Robert Morris 11
Gary Bell Gonzaga 13 PF Karvel Anderson Robert Morris 12
Brad Waldow St. Mary’s 14 C Jalen Cannon St. Francis NY 5
Christopher Anderson San Diego 3 PG-bu Kenneth Ortiz Wagner 1
Tyler Haws Brigham Young 8 SG-bu Jason Brickman Long Island Brooklyn 6
Sam Dower Gonzaga 7 SF-bu Julian Norfleet Mount St. Mary’s 5
Brendan Lane Pepperdine 6 PF-bu Joe O’Shea Bryant 5
Thomas van der Mars Portland 6 C-bu Scooter Gillette Fairleigh Dickinson 7


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.