Mike Trout, Clayton Kershaw Win MVP Awards

Mike Trout, Clayton Kershaw Win MVP Awards

Two Southern California baseball stars claimed MVP awards from the two big leagues on Thursday.

Mike Trout won a unanimous vote of the Baseball Writers Association of America to snag his first MVP award after finishing as the runner-up the last two seasons. The 23-year-old Los Angeles Angels outfielder led MLB in runs and total bases in 2014, and the American League in RBI. He knocked in 111 runs, hit 36 round trippers, and batted 287.

Only Vida Blue and Cal Ripken won the American League award at a younger age. 

Clayton Kershaw became the first National League pitcher to win the MVP award since Bob Gibson’s dominating 1968 campaign. The Los Angeles Dodgers ace pitched a no-hitter in June en route to compiling a 21-3 record with a 1.77 ERA. The MVP Award adds to his already impressive collection of hardware. He won the National League Cy Young Award, his third, earlier this week.

Kershaw won 18 votes from the writers. Miami Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton, who missed the last month of the season after enduring a bean-ball to the face, finished second in the balloting with eight votes. Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen received the remaining four votes. 


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.