Syracuse Basketball Self-Imposes Postseason Ban for ‘Past Mistakes’

Jim Boeheim Kevin Rivoli AP
Kevin Rivoli/AP

Syracuse University has announced that it will self-impose a ban on postseason Orange basketball as punishment for “past mistakes.”

Syracuse administrators said on Wednesday that the university was going to impose the ban on itself in the midst of an investigation by the NCAA, college basketball’s governing body, into past rules infractions.

“I am very disappointed that our basketball team will miss the opportunity to play in the postseason this year,” SU basketball coach Jim Boeheim said in Wednesday’s press release. “However, I supported this decision and I believe the University is doing the right thing by acknowledging that past mistakes occurred. Our players have faced adversity and challenges before. I know they will rise to this challenge by keeping our program strong and continuing to make our University proud.”

The university also pointed out that many of the infractions being looked into by the NCAA occurred long before the current coaching staff or players came along. None occurred after 2012, the university claimed.

In 2012, the university declared former center Fab Melo ineligible for an NCAA tournament only days before the games began. The player also missed three Big East games over academic issues. Additionally, former forward James Southerland was benched for six games for academic issues.

The NCAA is also looking into claims that Syracuse allowed players to attend practices and play in games despite being in violation of the school’s drug policies.

Syracuse Chancellor Kent Syverud stated that the action shows the school’s “commitment to integrity, responsibility and fairness.”

“The University has taken this matter seriously and worked with the NCAA for nearly eight years to investigate and address potential rules violations. The process has been exhaustive,” Syverud said.

“We have taken responsibility for past violations and worked hard to ensure they are not repeated,” the chancellor continued.

The one-year self-imposed ban includes the NCAA Tournament, the ACC Tournament, and the National Invitational Tournament.

Follow Warner Todd Huston on Twitter @warnerthuston or email the author at


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.