Breitbart Primary: Donald Trump Takes August Top Spot

donald trump

Businessman Donald Trump won August’s Breitbart Primary, surging ahead of Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX), who won the first two Breitbart Primary straw polls.

It was the first time that Trump, who announced his presidential bid two weeks after the inaugural Breitbart Primary started in June, has won a Breitbart Primary straw poll, and his 12-point victory over Cruz in August was the largest margin of victory to date in Breitbart Primary voting.

Trump received 38.7% of the vote, followed by Cruz (26.6%), Dr. Ben Carson (10%), Carly Fiorina (5.63%), Sen. Rand Paul (5%), Scott Walker (3.82%), and Sen. Marco Rubio (2.9%).

Cruz edged out Trump in last month’s Breitbart Primary, but Trump surged into the lead in the first week of August and, like in every other state and national poll, never looked back and widened his lead to 12 points over Cruz. Focusing his campaign on illegal immigration and trade deals that harm American workers and vowing not to be beholden to lobbyist and D.C. outsiders, Trump has lapped his competition in nearly every state and national poll that has been conducted in the last two months. Trump has galvanized the conservative base and is appealing to voters who usually sit out elections because they find establishment politicians from both political parties to be repulsive.

The Breitbart News audience is getting more engaged in the 2016 election, as more people voted in August’s Breitbart Primary (152,000) than in the previous two months combined. And non-politicians and anti-establishment candidates Trump, Cruz, Carson, and Fiorina accounted for 81% of the first-place votes. Establishment candidates continued to do poorly in the Breitbart Primary as former Florida Governor Jeb Bush, former Texas Governor Rick Perry, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, former New York Governor George Pataki, and Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC) all failed to get even 1% of the vote.

Here are the results for August’s Breitbart Primary:

Donald Trump: 38.7%
Ted Cruz: 26.6%
Ben Carson: 10.0%
Carly Fiorina: 5.6%
Rand Paul: 5.0%
Scott Walker: 3.8%
Marco Rubio: 2.9%
John Kasich: 1.9%

Mitt Romney: 1.1%

Mike Huckabee: 0.90%

Jeb Bush: 0.90%

Rick Perry: 0.4%
Bobby Jindal: 0.5%
Chris Christie: 0.2%
Rick Santorum: 0.2%
George Pataki: 0.10%
Lindsey Graham: 0.08%

Walker, who placed second in the inaugural Breitbart Primary, Paul, and Rubio continued to struggle to gain traction in August. All three candidates have struggled to break out from the pack in national and state polling as well.

When second- and third-place votes were considered, Cruz actually received the most votes, followed by Trump, Carson, Fiorina, and Walker. Cruz received the most second-place votes (23.6%), followed by Carson (19%) and Fiorina (12.2%). Carson received the most third-place votes (19.4%), followed by Fiorina (16.6%) and Cruz (11.3%).

Second-place votes:

1. Ted Cruz: 23.6%
2. Ben Carson: 19%
3. Carly Fiorina: 12.2%
4. Donald Trump: 9.9%
5. Scott Walker: 9.03%

Third-place votes:

1. Ben Carson: 19.4%

2. Carly Fiorina: 16.6%
3. Ted Cruz: 11.3%
4. Scott Walker: 10.5%
5. Donald Trump: 7.6%

Voting is reset in each month’s Breitbart Primary, and Breitbart News readers are encouraged to vote in September’s Breitbart Primary here or by clicking on the banner below.
Breitbart Primary Banner