Seven Vulnerable Senate Democrats Call for VA Secretary Eric Shinseki's Resignation

Seven Vulnerable Senate Democrats Call for VA Secretary Eric Shinseki's Resignation

Seven vulnerable Democrats are now calling for Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki’s resignation after a preliminary Inspector General’s report confirmed allegations of a scandal in the agency.

Here are the seven Senate Democrats – who coincidently are all running for re-election in 2014:

1. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

Statement: “Today, after reading the Inspector General’s interim report, I am calling for General Shinseki’s resignation. It’s time for a forceful new leader to address the outrageous problems at the VA.”

2. Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC)

Statement: “Secretary Shinseki has served our country honorably over many decades, but in the interest of regaining the trust of our veterans and implementing real and lasting reforms, I believe it is time for him to step aside and allow new leadership to take the helm at the VA to correct these failings immediately.”

3. Sen. Mark Udall (D-CO)

Statement: “In light of IG report & systemic issues at @DeptVetAffairs, Sec. Shinseki must step down.”

4. Sen. John Walsh (D-MT):

Statement: “It is time for President Obama to remove Secretary Shinseki from office.” 

5. Sen. Al Franken (D-MN):

Statement: “The Inspector General’s report is so troubling that I have come to the conclusion that the Department of Veterans Affairs needs new leadership. I believe it would be in the best interest of veterans for Secretary Shinseki to step down.”

6. Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA):

Statement: “Gen. Shinseki has served our country with distinction. I now believe he should step aside in order to allow our focus and our efforts to be on making the critically needed changes to fix the VA.”

7. Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM):

Statement: “It’s clear to me that Secretary Shinseki must step down to make way for new leadership that can restore accountability and transparency and ensure veterans in New Mexico and nationwide get the care they have earned.”

Senators in contested Senate races who have not called for Shinseki’s resignation include Sens. Mark Pryor (D-AR), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Mark Begich (D-AK), and Jeff Merkley (D-OR).