Gun Owners of America: Missouri Is 4th State to Adopt Permitless Carry this Year


On September 15, Gun Owners of America (GOA) pointed out that Republican lawmakers’ override of Governor Jay Nixon’s (D) veto of SB 656 makes Missouri the fourth state to adopt permitless carry this year.

The other three states with permitless carry this year are Idaho, Mississippi, and West Virginia.

In a press release emailed to Breitbart News, GOA executive director Erich Pratt said, “This is a fantastic day. Four states have adopted permitless carry this year.”

He pointed out that the addition of Missouri brings the overall list of permitless carry states to twelve. The states on that list are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Vermont, Wyoming, and West Virginia. Pratt told Breitbart News that GOA counts Arkansas because permitless carry is legal in “99.4 percent” of the state, which is similar to the situation in Montana.

Pratt stressed that permitless firearm carry provisions exemplify our Founding Fathers’ intent for Americans. He said, “Law-abiding citizens should not have to ask for permission to exercise a constitutionally-protected right. That’s the beauty of Constitutional Carry, it honors the Second Amendment which says the right to keep and BEAR arms ‘shall not be infringed.'”

AWR Hawkins is the Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and political analyst for Armed American Radio. Follow him on Twitter: @AWRHawkins. Reach him directly at


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.