More ‘Faithless Electors’ Defect from Hillary Clinton than Donald Trump

ROB KERR/AFP/Getty Images

The majority of “faithless” Democratic electors from the Electoral College — who cast their ballots on Monday — reportedly defected from Hillary Clinton in an attempt to block President-elect Donald Trump from winning.

They still lost.

According to NPR, seven electors defected from Clinton, while two defected from Trump. There are 538 electors and a majority of 270 were required to elect the next president. At final count, Trump had 304 votes and Clinton had 228, Colin Powell received 3, while Ron Paul and Faith the spotted eagle each won one vote.

The term “faithless” elector refers to members of the Electoral College who break away from their party’s pledged candidate and who refuse to vote for their state’s choice.

Since 1900, there have been nine faithless electors — and only one at a time — who voted against their party’s pledged candidate. On Monday, at least six faithless electors broke with tradition to vote against their own state’s rule of law.

RNC co-chair Sharon Day said in a statement Monday that “Trump won decisively in the Electoral College with more votes than any Republican since 1988.”

In Denver, Colorado, one elector was reportedly replaced after refusing to vote for Clinton, who had won the state’s vote. Once that person was replaced, all of Colorado’s nine electors voted for Clinton. The faithless elector’s move was part of a failed, previous attempt by two of Colorado’s electors, to persuade the others to join a bid to block Trump.

Last week, Denver Judge Elizabeth Starrs ruled against this move and warned that any defectors could face criminal charges if they defy her court order.

NPR noted that an elector who tried to vote for Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT) in Minnesotta was replaced by an alternate elector, who voted for Clinton.

In Washington, three Democrats reportedly defected as part of the failed effort to unite behind a Republican alternative to Trump and in Texas, The now infamous “Faithless Elector” Christopher Suprun revealed that he cast his ballot for Ohio Governor John Kasich, who received just one vote.

According to Fox News, earlier in Palm Beach, Florida, an electoral college protester reportedly shouted “you sold out America” as the electors cast their ballots.

Both Trump and Vice President-elect Mike Pence expressed their gratitude following news of Monday’s victory:

Among liberals who did not take the loss in stride is TV presenter Keith Olbermann who put a video out immediately following Trump’s win saying he will “resist” and “never” call Trump “president.”

Trump will officially be sworn in as America’s 45th president on Friday, January 20, 2017.

Follow Adelle Nazarian on Twitter @AdelleNaz


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.