Permitless Carry Passes North Dakota Senate, Heads to Governor’s Desk

Associated Press

On Tuesday North Dakota’s Senate passed the permitless carry legislation contained in HB 1196, which means the bill now moves to its last stop–Governor Doug Burgum’s (R) desk.

HB 1196 passed the House on February 21 by a vote of 83-9. It passed the Senate 34-13.

The NRA followed the Senate vote with a tweet:

The NRA-ILA reports that while HB 1196 eliminates the requirement for law-abiding North Dakota residents to acquire a permit in order to carry concealed, it still preserves the concealed permit issuing process for those who want a permit for the purposes of reciprocity.

If Governor Burgum signs the bill, North Dakota will become the 14th state to tell its residents that the Second Amendment is their concealed carry permit. The 13 states that currently recognize permitless carry are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, Vermont, Wyoming, and West Virginia. Although a permit is still required in certain parts of Arkansas and Montana, the vast majority of both states–99.4 percent–allow concealed carry without a permit.

AWR Hawkins is the Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and host of Bullets with AWR Hawkins, a Breitbart News podcast. He is also the political analyst for Armed American Radio. Follow him on Twitter: @AWRHawkins. Reach him directly at


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.