16 States Where Constitutional Carry is the Law of the Land

gun purse
Joe Raedle/Getty Images

When Gov. Matt Bevin (R) signed legislation Monday to eliminate Kentucky’s concealed carry permit requirement he brought the number of constitutional carry states to 16.

Constitutional carry, or permitless carry, as it is also called, means law-abiding residents in a given state can carry their handgun for self-defense without going through a cumbersome process of first acquiring documentation from the state. In other words, the Second Amendment is your carry permit.

On March 11, 2019, Breitbart News reported on Bevin signing Senate Bill 150, to eliminate the concealed carry requirement.

On March 12, 2019, the NRA posted:

In addition to making Kentucky the 16th state overall to allow concealed carry without a permit, Bevin’s signature made the Blue Grass State the third state to jettison permit requirements this year. The other two states are Oklahoma, where Gov. Kevin Stitt (R) signed constitutional carry legislation February 27, and South Dakota, where Gov. Kristi Noem (R) signed constitutional carry legislation on January 31.

The legislation in the three states takes effect on different dates.

AWR Hawkins is an award-winning Second Amendment columnist for Breitbart News and the writer/curator of Down Range with AWR Hawkins, a weekly newsletter focused on all things Second Amendment, also for Breitbart News. He is the political analyst for Armed American Radio. Follow him on Twitter: @AWRHawkins. Reach him directly at awrhawkins@breitbart.com. Sign up to get Down Range at breitbart.com/downrange.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.