Oregon Law Lets Mothers Keep Placentas in 2014
On January 1, a new Oregon law provides that Oregon mothers will be able to bring home their placentas from the hospital after childbirth.
Not everyone knows that in some cultures eating the placenta sac may be nutritional for the mother and the baby. Moreover, memorializing or burying the placenta is an activity shared by some.
Alissia Keny-Guyer (D-Portland) was the prominent sponsor of the new bill that was overwhelmingly passed by the Oregon 2013 Legislature 56-0. She insists that, “many women do want to take home their placenta for various cultural reasons." Some birthing centers had already allowed for the rare mother to carry her placenta home if she was determined to so. However, up until the new law takes effect, technically medical facilities are prohibited from releasing medical waste, with the exception of veterinary practices.
Some other laws that go into effect for Oregon in 2014:
Cigarette tax: The state's cigarette tax will rise 13 cents to $1.31 a pack.
Driving: Texting or talking on a cell phone while driving will fetch higher fines—at least $142 and up to $500. New on the books: smoking in a car while a child is present. The new violation will fetch a maximum fine of $250 for the first offense and $500 for repeat offenses.
Animals: Oregonians will be cited for unlawful tethering if they use a leash that is “not a reasonable length” for more than 10 hours in a 24-hour period.
Medical marijuana: Oregonians with post-traumatic stress disorder will be able to participate in the state’s medical marijuana program.