Donald Trump Confirms Plan to Add More Countries to Travel Ban

WASHINGTON, DC - MAY 03: U.S. President Donald Trump talks to reporters while hosting Slovak Republic Prime Minister Peter Pellegrini in the Oval Office at the White House May 03, 2019 in Washington, DC. Pellegrini's visit is part of the Trump Administration's larger diplomatic attempt to compete with Moscow and …
Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

President Donald Trump confirmed Tuesday reports that he would add additional countries to his travel ban in an interview with the Wall Street Journal.

The president commented on the travel ban during an interview with reporter Andrew Restuccia during his trip to the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland.

The Associated Press last week reported that the White House was circulating an updated document that would include additional countries.

Trump did not detail to the Wall Street Journal which countries he would add to the list.

The original travel ban list includes travelers from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela, and North Korea.

The updated list is reportedly set to be released to coincide with the third anniversary of the ban, first announced on January 27, 2017.

Despite the widespread controversy surrounding the ban, the policy remains.

The White House continues to defend the ban as an important tool for keeping Americans safe.

“While there are no new announcements at this time, common-sense and national security both dictate that if a country wants to fully participate in U.S. immigration programs, they should also comply with all security and counter-terrorism measures — because we do not want to import terrorism or any other national security threat into the United States,” White House Deputy Press Secretary Hogan Gidley said to the Associated Press.


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.