UCLA Wins College World Series for First Time

UCLA Wins College World Series for First Time

UCLA has had a long tradition of NCAA success in team sports, with 108 national championships, but a title in baseball had always eluded the Bruins–until Tuesday night. The UCLA Bruins dominated Mississippi State 8-0 in Game 2 of the CWS final en route to their first baseball national championship and 109th national title in a team sport.

Nick Vander Tuig turned in a stellar performance on the mound for the Bruins, scattering 5 hits over 8 innings of work while striking out six and giving up no runs. Vander Tuig, whom the San Francisco Giants selected in the 6th round of the MLB Draft,  was 2-0 in the College World Series with a 0.60 ERA. 

Eric Filia continued his phenomenal production at the plate from last night, going 2 for 3 with 5 RBIs. Filia drove in 7 of UCLA’s 11 runs over the 2 games of the CWS final.

UCLA’s dominating sweep of the Mississippi State Bulldogs was due in large part to the fact that some of the most productive hitters in Mississippi State’s lineup were stifled in the CWS final, highlighted by first round pick Hunter Renfroe’s 0 for 7 performance over the two games of the finals. This is why the story of this year’s CWS was the Bruins’ pitching staff.

UCLA starting pitcher Adam Plutko, the game 1 winner, was named the Most Outstanding Player for the College World Series, going 2-0 over the course of the tournament in Omaha. UCLA turned in one of the most dominating performances in College World Series history, going 10-0 over the course of the tournament.