The 39 House Democrats Who Flip-Flopped After the ‘Schumer Shutdown’ Failed

Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer, D-N.Y., explains to reporters how his negotiations with President Donald Trump broke down yesterday as quarreling politicians in Washington eventually failed to keep their government in business, at the Capitol in Washington, Saturday, Jan. 20, 2018. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)
AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite

Thirty-nine House Democrats flip-flopped in favor of funding the government after the “Schumer Shutdown” failed.

The House and Senate approved a three-week stopgap spending bill on Monday and President Donald Trump signed the bill to end the three-day-long “Schumer Shutdown.”

The original stopgap spending bill passed through the House on January 18, 230-197, almost solely on Republican votes. The six House Democrats voted in favor of funding the government on January 18 are:

  1. Salud Carbajal (D-CA)
  2. Jim Costa (D-CA)
  3. Henry Cuellar (D-TX)
  4. Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)
  5. Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ)
  6. Collin Peterson (D-MN)

The bill subsequently failed in the Senate, however, the Senate passed a three-week spending bill after Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) struck a deal with Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) to fund the government in exchange for a “commitment” to bring forth legislation to address the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) illegal aliens.

Breitbart News reported on Monday that 27 Senate Democrats flip-flopped on Monday in favor of funding the government. The House then passed the three-week spending bill, 266-194, featuring broad bipartisan support.

After the “Schumer Shutdown” failed, 39 House Democrats flip-flopped from their January 18 vote to shut down the government to approve a three-week short-term spending bill. These Democrats are:

  1. Ami Bera (D-CA)
  2. Sanford Bishop (GA)
  3. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)
  4. Matt Cartwright (D-PA)
  5. Steve Cohen (D-TN)
  6. Gerry Connolly (D-VA)
  7. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
  8. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
  9. Charlie Crist (D-PA)
  10. John Delaney (D-MD)
  11. Suzan DelBene (D-WA)
  12. Michael Doyle (D-PA)
  13. Bill Foster (D-IL)
  14. John Garamendi (D-CA)
  15. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI)
  16. Dennis Heck (D-WA)
  17. Macy Kaptur (D-OH)
  18. Bill Keating (D-MA)
  19. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
  20. Anne McLane Kuster (D-NH)
  21. Jim Langevin (D-RI)
  22. John Larson (D-CT)
  23. Al Lawson (D-FL)
  24. Dan Lipinksi (D-IL)
  25. Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
  26. Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
  27. Patrick Murphy (D-FL)
  28. Rick Nolan (D-MN)
  29. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ)
  30. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
  31. Tom Rice (D-NY)
  32. Raul Ruiz (D-CA)
  33. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
  34. Brad Schneider (D-IL)
  35. Bobby Scott (D-VA)
  36. David Scott (D-GA)
  37. Terri Sewell (D-AL)
  38. Krysten Sinema (D-AZ)
  39. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)

House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), argued on the House floor on Monday, “The American people never wanted this to happen. Republicans in the Congress did not want this to happen. And we did everything in our power to make sure this didn’t happen. The House passed a clean bill. A bipartisan majority in the Senate voted to pass that clean bill. But Senate Democrats shut it down.

Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA) released a statement on Monday, arguing that Democrats put illegal aliens’ interests ahead of the American people’s interests. Barletta charged, “The Schumer Shutdown was reckless, dangerous, and showed our nation that Senate Democrats believe illegal immigrants come before American citizens. These shutdown shenanigans are a disgraceful and irresponsible tantrum by a select few.”


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.