The MPs Who Voted Against Britain


Britain’s parliament voted overwhelmingly in favour of Theresa May’s timetable for Brexit last night, but 89 members voted against Britain’s future outside of the EU, and dozens more abstained.

Wednesday night’s vote was originally tabled to force the government’s hand in revealing their Brexit plan by Labour MPs, but an amendment transformed the vote. Instead, members were voting in favour of triggering Article 50 before April 2017 at the latest.

Just one Conservative Member of Parliament, outspoken remainian Ken Clarke, voted against the government, although two dozen other Conservatives protested by not voting at all, reports The Mirror.

The majority of MPs voting against the government came from Scotland, with 51 SNP members, almost the whole parliamentary party. This was followed by 23 Labour MPs, less than a fifth of their MPs.

The smallest parties opposing Brexit were the Liberal Democrats, Greens, and Plaid Cymru.

While some MPs who voted against the government represent strongly pro-European Union urban seats, others defied the will of the electors who returned them to parliament in the first place.

Labour members Graham Allen representing Nottingham North which voted 65 per cent to leave, Chris Evans of Islwyn which voted 58 per cent to leave, Paul Farrelly of Newcastle-under-Lyme and Angela Smith of Penistone and Stocksbirdge, both of which voted 61 per cent to leave, and Barry Sheerman representing Huddersfield all voted against their constituencies.


Ken Clarke


Rushanara Ali
Graham Allen
Ben Bradshaw
Ann Coffey
Neil Coyle
Stella Creasy
Geraint Davies
Jim Dowd
Louise Ellman
Chris Evans
Paul Farrelly
Mike Gapes
Helen Hayes
Meg Hillier
Peter Kyle
David Lammy
Chris Leslie
Ian Murray
Barry Sheerman
Tulip Siddiq
Angela Smith
Catherine West
Daniel Zeichner

Lib Dems

Alistair Carmichael
Nick Clegg
Tim Farron
Sarah Olney
Mark Williams

Green Party

Caroline Lucas


Mark Durkan
Alasdair McDonnell
Margaret Ritchie


Natalie McGarry
Michelle Thomson

Plaid Cymru

Jonathan Edwards
Liz Saville Roberts
Hywel Williams


Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh
Hannah Bardell
Mhairi Black
Ian Blackford
Kirsty Blackman
Philip Boswell
Deidre Brock
Alan Brown
Lisa Cameron
Douglas Chapman
Joanna Cherry
Ronnie Cowan
Angela Crawley
Martyn Day
Martin Docherty-Hughes
Stuart Blair Donaldson
Marion Fellows
Margaret Ferrier
Stephen Gethins
Patricia Gibson
Patrick Grady
Peter Grant
Neil Gray
Drew Hendry
Stewart Hosie
George Kerevan
Calum Kerr
Chris Law
Angus MacNeil
John Mc Nally
Callum McCaig
Stuart McDonald
Anne McLaughlin
Carol Monaghan
Paul Monaghan
Roger Mullin
Gavin Newlands
John Nicolson
Brendan O’Hara
Kirsten Oswald
Steven Paterson
Angus Robertson
Alex Salmond
Tommy Sheppard
Chris Stephens
Alison Thewliss
Mike Weir
Eilidh Whiteford
Philippa Whitford
Corri Wilson
Pete Wishart

Follow Oliver Lane on Twitter: or e-mail to:



Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.