Life After 30: Federer Loses, Serena Advances at French Open

Life After 30: Federer Loses, Serena Advances at French Open

The only player besides Rafael Nadal to win the French Open in the past eight years fell Tuesday. Life after 30  is proving tougher for Roger Federer, who won the title in 2009, but lost early in the Australian Open in January and struggled for stretches throughout this tournament and fell to the home favorite Jo-Wilfried Tsonga of France, 7-5, 6-3, 6-3 Tuesday.

Year – French Open Champ
2005 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)
2006 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)
2007 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)
2008 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)
2009 – Switzerland (Roger Federer)
2010 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)
2011 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)
2012 – Spain (Rafael Nadal)

In January, Federer was caught yelling the F-word as Andy Murray overpowered him throughout on the fast surface of the Australian Open. Federer did manage to sneak out two tie-breakers against Murray then for a 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-3, 6-7 (2), 6-2 loss but had no such luck on the slower clay surface.

Another 31-year-old, Serena Williams, stayed on course to win her first French Open since she was 20 but not without finally dropping a set and falling behind in the decisive set. Eventually, Williams rallied to defeat Svetlana Kuznetsova 6-1, 3-6, 6-3 Tuesday.

photo credit: USA Today Sports