BBWAA Names Rookies of the Year

BBWAA Names Rookies of the Year

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) unanimously voted Chicago White Sox first basemen Jose Abreu the American League Rookie of the Year. The Cuban smashed 36 home runs, accumulated 107 RBIs, and hit .317 in his inaugural campaign.

In the National League, Jacob deGrom won 26 of 30 first place votes. He boasted a 9-6 record with a 2.69 ERA and 144 strikeouts this season. The pitcher joins Tom Seaver, John Matlack, and Dwight Gooden as Mets kings of the hill to win the honor.

“I’m truly honored to receive this award and would like to thank the BBWAA,” deGrom said in a Mets release. “I wouldn’t have won if it wasn’t for the support of my teammates. I’m already looking forward to 2015 and helping the Mets reach the postseason.”


Please let us know if you're having issues with commenting.